Secret of the Hidden Scrolls: The Shepherd’s Stone (Book 5) & The Lion’s Roar (Book 6) Reviews

This article is in collaboration with Worth Kids.

Fall is here, and with it, members of the Homeschool Review Crew and their children have had the wonderful opportunity to review two titles from The Secret of the Hidden Scrolls series published by WorthyKids Books.

Earlier in the year, The Homeschool Review Crew read books three and four from the series and shared their thoughts with us. This time, they are continuing on in the series with The Secret of the Hidden Scrolls: The Shepherd’s Stone (Book 5), and The Secret of the Hidden Scrolls: The Lion’s Roar (Book 6).

The Secret of the Hidden Scrolls is a 7-book series that helps bring the Bible to life for children ages 6-9. Each title journeys through a familiar Bible story retelling it in a new and exciting way, while maintaining accuracy. The main characters, Peter, Mary, and their dog Hank, through mysterious items found at their Great-Uncle Solomon’s house, are catapulted back in time. Guided by the angel Michael, they must race against the clock to solve the clue and return home before being trapped in Biblical times.

The Shepherd’s Stone is the fifth book in the series, and we find our characters thrust into the story of young David, a shepherd boy. At just 120 pages, younger students will follow along while you read aloud to them. Older students will easily devour the pages of this chapter book independently. Either way this title is read, with each page turned, you will find clues, mystery, and intrigue as the characters race to solve the secret of the hidden scroll.

Book 6, The Lion’s Roar, takes readers back to the city of Babylon as our main characters find themselves in the story of Daniel. Similar to the other books in this series, Peter, Mary, and Hank work their way through the Biblical encounters careful to both solve the mystery and not change history.

Following the conclusion of each story, the author, M.J. Thomas, includes notes on where to find the real stories of David and Daniel within the pages of the Bible.

Connect with WorthyKids Books On Social Media

Facebook | Instagram | Pinterest

Want to know more about these two titles from The Secret of the Hidden Scrolls from WorthyKids Books? Scroll down to read all of the Homeschool Review Crew’s reviews. These in-depth reviews will take you through the stories and share some of the exciting details.


Thank you to Kelly Warner of Hope In The Chaos for writing this introductory article!

This linky list is now closed.

6 thoughts on “Secret of the Hidden Scrolls: The Shepherd’s Stone (Book 5) & The Lion’s Roar (Book 6) Reviews”

  1. Love the books! What series do you suggest next? My daughters absolutely couldn’t put the books down. I want to keep them interested in reading. Is there another series half as interesting that will keep them wanting more out there? I love that they learned about the Bible too.


Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

A Division of The Old Schoolhouse® Magazine